Auto Scroller

The Council

The Council is composed of the Chief, four Clan Councillors, one Elder Councillor and one Youth Councillor.  Citizens who can vote at the general election (18 years of age or older) elect the Council.  Their responsibilities include the management of property, interests and affairs of the Selkirk First Nation and their authorities flow through the Selkirk First Nation Constitution.  They report to the Assembly. The Chief and Council are elected into leadership every three years on the 1st Wednesday of April.  The Council chooses the Deputy Chief from amongst its members and may fix the term of his/her office.

The 2017-2020 Council is:

  • Chief: Sharon Nelson
  • Elder Councillor: Millie Johnson
  • Wolf Councillor: George McGinty
  • Wolf Councillor: Dean Gill
  • Crow Councillor: Nesta Hager
  • Crow Councillor: Teddy Charlie
  • Youth Councillor: Morris Morrison 

Governing Institutions

© Selkirk First Nation 2021


Dec 20, 2015
© Selkirk First Nation 2021

The Assembly

Nov 3, 2015
Elder at CYFN General Assembly

The Elders Council

Oct 1, 2015
Left to Right: Chief Darin Isaac, Elder Councillor Amy Johnnie, Youth Councillor Cody Sims, Crow Councillor Carmen Baker, Crow Councillor Ashley Edzerza, Wolf Councillor Morris Morrison and Wolf Councillor Jeremy Harper

The Council

Nov 3, 2015
Family Heads providing Gi

The Family Heads

Nov 3, 2015